Skip to content

AMERICANISM!

March 10, 2011

This is the second anniversary since I introduced the concept Americanism in March 2009 in my book The Psychology of Investing. At that time, many people said the US was finished in the global economy because the rise of the economic powers of China, Europe and India, surpassing the economic growth in the US. The recession in the US was in full swing, alive and growing, being fed by cheap “poison” dollars by a stupid Fed trying to kill the “Monster” the banks created. China hordes 2 trillion of these cheap dollars trying to save the US economy from collapse (for its own sake) while surpassing Japan in gross domestic products. The Dow Jones plunge to 8000, unemployment went up to double digit, and the world was talking about replacing the dollar as global currency with the Euro, Yuan or some other temporary shining star.

I held firm to my views about Americanism: my theory that the United States will always lead the world economically, militarily and politically. My convictions were based on the US Constitution – best in history, on freedom to innovate – highest in the world, on freedom in general greatest of all countries, on “Yankee Ingenuity” that produces US executives and companies second to none. I bought shares only in American companies (Americanism), only in New York’s Wall Street (Americanism) and only for the long run (Americanism), not a quick fix like in Europe, copying like in China, just solid growth leaving all the other countries behind, sooner or later. I know, most people don’t believe in Americanism as strongly as I do, but, to me, history is the guide and if you know history because your read and read, you become amazed when you find out that since the US was born, everything of any value came from these shores. The rest of the countries, sooner of later, drown in their problems were bailed out by the US, time and again. That’s a fact! I am rich because I believe in Americanism and nothing will make me invest my money elsewhere, but – I have respect for anyone who disagree with me. Be my guest, send your money to China, India, Europe or the middle East oil fields. My money stays at home! Americanism!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 9:59 pm

    It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

    • March 17, 2011 11:23 am

      I like to stimulate thinking more than to find people who agree with me. After all, I used to be a college professor. Please let me know when you make up your mind about Americanism either pro or con. I am interested in your point of view because of the intelligent way you responded to my posting. I am a cautious individual myself about new concepts.

Leave a Reply

