Skip to content

Dividend, yes or no?

October 18, 2010

I bought 2000 shares of Microsoft a few years ago at $25. The nice dividend over the years added to the capital gain makes for a nice profit. But, although I am 74 and retired, and most financial advisors tell me to purchase shares that pay nice dividend, I decided to grow up as an investor! You see, if Microsoft never split, a share would be $5,000 today! If I bought then and sold now, the dividend earned would be miniscule. I decided that from now on whether a company pays dividend or not, it will never again enter my calculation to buy its shares or not. What a relief, now I can concentrate on the Apples and the Googles that don’t pay dividend. You buy those companies and you can leave Microsoft behind. Sure, Apple and Google may pay dividend one day when they become a behemoth that don’t more up anymore, like Microsoft, but by then I will have a Facebook IPO to make money with – without dividend. As a successful investor, life without dividend is better than life with dividend, but go tell it to my conventional financial advisors. Hey, let me introduce myself to you, I am soooo different, and I am sooooo of proud of it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 2:51 pm

    enteviari
    insect bite
    guccutsWefe

    • November 3, 2010 5:09 am

      I am an expert on the psychology of health and financing. You have a fine website on health so I won’t “spam” you this time, but, please, if you want to advertise your products on my blog, you have to also comment on my posting, otherwise I feel used!

Leave a Reply

