Skip to content

The unfortunate relationship between love and money.

December 11, 2009

When I was young, I had lots of girlfriends but no money. I married at 32…. couldn’t give up the ‘field’ that easily.  The other day I glanced at an old album. Pretty Betty in shorts was leaning on my second-hand bike, sweet Ann and I were strolling on a dirt road, I was kissing Gina on a rock, 30 pictures in all and none even near a car. Barclay’s Bank in Tel Aviv did business but not with poor kids. My first car was a 54 Chevy that I bought for $300 in 64 when I got to America.

The other day I bought a brand new Toyota Avalon, the second most expensive car after Lexus, but the young ‘chicks’ to fool around with in the back seat are long gone. At 73, after prostate cancer treatment and 4 kids, my beautiful wife is relatively ‘safe.’

I write my story because if you loaned me the money to buy a red convertible in Tel Aviv 1959, I would have had a ‘blast’ and I could easily paid you back the loan today at 10% interest per year. Are you listening, loan officers, why don’t you loan money to poor promising intelligent young men to be paid back half a century later? Why not? You’d make your money and you’d make a lot of young people in India happy.

Money has an unfortunate relationship with love. When you are young, you have one, and when you are old, you have the other.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 7:11 pm

    Love,will get you through times of no money, better than money,will get you through times of no love…It seems as though successful living is about finding contentment in your present circumstances, or especially sometimes despite them! Thanks for the reminder!

    • December 15, 2009 5:54 am

      Thank you, Alton. Your response reminds me how more fortunate we are than Tiger Woods. Merry Christmas.

  2. October 3, 2014 8:14 pm

    Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

